Trips Portal - How to change a parent's consent or decline

The SchoolsBuddy Team
  • Updated
Markdown
Quick answer:

Parents cannot change their consent once submitted, but staff can override it from the trip in the Trips Portal.

This article explains how staff can update student sign-ups for a trip by overriding parent consent. Once a parent has submitted consent, it cannot be changed by the parent. Any updates must be made by staff from the school side.

Below are the steps to remove a student from a trip:


Part 1: Removing a Student from a Trip

  1. Open the trip and click Manage.
  2. Go to the Consent tab.
  3. Select Consented to view the list of students who have consented.
  4. Click Override next to the student you want to remove.

    Screenshot: Click Override next to the student you want to remove
  5. Enter a short reason for the override.
  6. Click Next

    Screenshot: Click Next
  7. Then Save to confirm the change.

    Screenshot: Then Save to confirm the change

Once saved, the student’s status will change from Consented to Declined, and the student will be removed from the trip register.

Before:

Screenshot: Part 1: Removing a Student from a Trip
Part 1: Removing a Student from a Trip.

After:

Screenshot: To add a student back to the trip, follow the same steps outlined in Part 1 with a small adjustment
To add a student back to the trip, follow the same steps outlined in Part 1 with a small adjustment.

Part 2: Adding a Student to the Trip

To add a student back to the trip, follow the same steps outlined in Part 1 with a small adjustment:

  1. Open the trip and click Manage.
  2. Go to the Consent tab.
  3. Select Declined or Awaiting Response to locate the student.

  4. Click Override next to the student you want to add.

    Screenshot: Click Override next to the student you want to add
  5. Enter a short reason for the override.
  6. Click Next

    Screenshot: Click Next
  7. Then Save to confirm the change.

    Screenshot: Then Save to confirm the change

Once saved, the student will appear on the trip register, and the event will also appear in the parent’s and student’s diary.
 

Screenshot: Once saved, the student will appear on the trip register, and the event will also appear in the parent’s
Once saved, the student will appear on the trip register, and the event will also appear in the parent’s.

 

Important Note on Communications

Overriding a student’s consent status does not automatically notify parents or students.
If communication is required, staff will need to manually send the relevant communication after making the change.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful